Skip to content

What is Apple Lost Mode and How Do I Turn It On?

Log in with your Apple ID in web browser - What is Apple Lost Mode and How Do I Turn It On?

Losing an iPhone is problematic in many ways. You lose money spent on the device, and if your iPhone is stolen, all the data in it will be at risk. The situation worsens if you have not set a screen lock password or if the thief knows your password. Apple has experienced similar situations and therefore introduced Lost Mode.

Want to learn more about Apple’s Lost Mode and how to enable it on your Apple devices? Read on to find out everything you can do with your iPhone, even after losing it.

What is Lost Mode on iPhone, iPad or Mac?

The excitement of travel can easily come to an end if your device is lost or stolen. But don’t worry. Apple Lost Mode is a feature that helps you find your device, including your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac, or Apple Watch.

You can also prevent anyone from accessing the information on your device, display a message that your device is lost, and contact you when someone finds it. But in order to use this feature, you need to enable this feature and the steps to do so are mentioned in the next part.

Lost Mode can be used on a locked iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, MacBook, and even iPod touch. This helps protect all your personal information from others. You can also use the Find My app to find your lost or stolen iPhone.

How to Enable Lost Mode on Any Apple Device

  1. Open a web browser and go to www.iCloud.com on your iPhone, iPad, or Mac.
  2. Sign in with your Apple ID. Be sure to sign in with the same Apple ID that you used on your lost device.

  3. Click Find My iPhone, enter your Apple ID password, and click Sign In.
  4. All Apple devices using the same Apple ID will be shown with their location.
  5. Navigate to the device on which you want to enable Lost Mode.
  6. You can also select “All Devices” at the top of the page and select a specific device from there.

    Navigate to the device on which you want to enable Lost Mode.

  7. Once you have selected your device, you can view the battery percentage and last known location. The box in the top left corner will display your device along with three options: Play Sound, Lost Mode, and Erase iPhone.
  8. Click Lost Mode.

    Tap Lost Mode

  9. If you didn’t have a screen lock before, you can now set a screen lock to protect your iPhone from being unlocked by other people. Enter the password and repeat it to confirm.

    Enter Lost Mode password

  10. On the next screen, enter the phone number you would like to be contacted if someone finds your device and wants to return it. (Now add a phone number that you have access to, not your personal mobile number since you’ve already lost your device. We often make mistakes like this when we’re in a hurry.)
  11. Click “Next.

    Click

  12. In the text box, enter a message to help speed up the process.
  13. Click Done in the top right corner.

    Click

Please do not provide personal information, especially if your iPhone has been stolen. Please ensure that you provide only the minimum information required to contact you. Also, your iPhone will go into Battery Saver Mode as soon as you turn on Lost Mode. This happens automatically to extend your iPhone’s battery life.

What happens when you use Lost Mode?

Now that you know how to turn it on, here’s what happens if you use Lost Mode:

  • Confirmation Email: You will receive a confirmation email.
  • Custom message: Your device will display a message that it’s lost and show you ways to contact you if it’s found.
  • Blocks all actions: in Lost Mode, any messages or notifications will be displayed, and even alarms will be disabled. The only exception will be made for receiving calls and FaceTime calls.
  • Location Tracking: You will be able to track your device’s current location and movement.
  • Blocks Services: Lost Mode will disable payment cards and other services if enabled.

How to turn off Lost Mode on an Apple device

Once you have found your lost device, you can and should disable Lost Mode. The process for this is very similar to the process for turning it on. Here’s how:

  1. Open a web browser and go to www.iCloud.com on any Apple device.
  2. Sign in with your Apple ID. Make sure you’re signed in with the same Apple ID that you used on your restored device.
  3. Click All Devices and select a device in Lost Mode.
  4. From the three available options, click Lost Mode.
  5. Since the service is already enabled, click Stop Lost Mode to disable it.

    Click Stop Lost Mode to turn it off.

  6. Confirm your choice by clicking Stop Lost Mode on the pop-up dialog.

You can also directly unlock your iPhone by entering the passcode on the lock screen.

Note: Even after disabling lock mode on your device, you will need to enter your device passcode to unlock it.

Frequently asked Questions

Q. What does Lost Mode do on iPhone?

Enabling Lost Mode locks your iPhone, which can only be unlocked through iCloud.com or by entering your passcode on the lock screen. It will also help you locate your iPhone.

Q. Can someone use my iPhone if it’s in Lost Mode?

No. Except you (or anyone who knows your passcode), no one can access your iPhone.

Hope you find your iPhone1

If you have any other questions, please leave them in the comments below. I will contact you as soon as possible. Also, if you’ve found a better way to find your iPhone, please let us know in the comments below.

Read more:

  • Depth effect not working on iPhone? 8 ways to fix it!
  • What is dual-frequency GPS in Apple Watch Ultra and iPhone 14 Pro series
  • Dynamic Island compatible apps for iPhone 14 Pro and 14 Pro Max

Руководства

#Apple #Lost #Mode #Turn

❤ XOXO ❤

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *